Municipal Court

The Municipal Court provides a fair and impartial hearing for all citizens charged with a city ordinance violation, code violation, or traffic violation within the boundaries of the City of Martin.

Martin Municipal Court primarily handles the following issues:

  • traffic citations
  • parking citations
  • Other city ordinance violations such as:
    • building codes
    • business regulations
    • noise and other ordinances that involve personal behavior

Pay a Fine

The Judge hears cases in Court the second Tuesday and the forth Thursday each month at 4 PM. Fines may be paid during regular business hours (8:00 AM – 4:30 PM) by visiting the Martin Police Department.

Martin Police Department
101 University St
Martin, TN 38237

You May Mail Your Payment To:

Martin City Court
P.O. Box 9
Martin, TN 38237

Acceptable Forms of Payment:

  • Cash (DO NOT send cash through the mail)
  • Money Order
  • Cashier’s Check
  • Personal Check (No counter or third party checks – must be imprinted with presenter information)
  • Debit / Credit Cards (there is a $3 charge for using a debit or credit card)

Make Money Orders, Cashier’s Checks, or Personal Checks payable to City of Martin. Please enclose the pink copy of the citation with your payment to insure proper credit.

Things To Know

You must pay the citation prior to your court date or appear in Court by the date assigned by the Officer.

If you wish to appear in court and plead guilty to a charge, please appear on the date the officer assigned.  Court starts promptly at 4 PM.

If you wish to pay a citation, you may do so on or before your scheduled court date.

Failure to appear in court by the assigned date will result in an additional charge of Failure to Appear. Separate costs, fines and taxes apply.

If you fail to fully satisfy your traffic citation by appearing in court on your assigned date, or fail to pay this citation on or before your scheduled date, the Tennessee Department of Safety will be notified to initiate suspension of your license.

Driving School

There is an opportunity to take a defensive driving class in order to have a moving violation dismissed. This is assigned during the court session by the judge. If you wish to attend the defensive driving class do not pay the ticket in advance. You will be asked to pay $65 court costs on the day you appear. Registration for the class is an additional $90 paid directly to the online defensive driving school. Failure to return the completed certificate from the school by the date specified may result in additional charges and costs.  In addition, the Tennessee Department of Safety will be notified to initiate suspension of your license.

Click here to attend the Driver Safety Program after your court date.